March 4, 2024

A Constituency Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Adentan Constituency Koku Acolatse has said he has started calling Alan Kyeremateng “His Excellency” ahead of the NPP race. 



Mr. Acolatse made the declaration during the the Greater Accra Regional Campaign Tour of the NPP Flagbearer hopeful who made a whistle stop at the Adentan Constituency.

“I have started calling him (Alan Kyeremateng) his Excellency already. He has worked hard and selflessly for the party. We will not disappoint him.” The NPP Chair said in his introductory remarks.

“I commend him for the innovation to bring us together. He is truly a unifier. He is our incoming President. God bless Alan” He said.

Alan Kyeremateng visited the Okaikoi group of Constituencies,Shai Osudoku among others on Wednesday 6th July 2023.

Mr. Alan Kyeremateng is contesting Boakye Agyarko, the former energy minister, Francis Addai Nimoh, the former MP for Mampong in the Ashanti Region, Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, the former general secretary of the NPP, Dr Kofi Konadu Apraku, an economist and former minister for regional co-operation, and Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, a former minister of food and agriculture, have acquired forms to stand in the presidential primaries.

Others are Kennedy Agyapong, the sitting MP for Assin Central in the Central Region who is making strong waves and Joe Ghartey, the former minister of railways development and sitting Member of Parliament for Essikado-Ketan in the Western Region.

More people who have also picked up forms are the vice-president, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia who is considered by many as a fronrunner; Kojo Poku, an energy expert and Alan Kyerematen, the subject of this story who is a former minister of trade and industry,

The NPP is expected to hold a super delegates’ conference to trim the number of aspirants to five as required by the party’s constitution.

See also  Video: Dr Bawumia is full container of visionary ideas - Bono East Regional Communications Director

The NPP has already planned to hold a conference of super delegates on 26 August.

Under Article 12 (5) (b) of the NPP’s constitution, “where there are more than five contestants for nomination as the party’s presidential candidate, a Special Electoral College (super delegates) shall cast their votes by secret ballot for the first five contestants to be shortlisted”.

The provision goes on to list those who constitute the Special Electoral College. They are “the National Council, the National Executive Committee, the Regional Executive Committees, National Council of Elders and Members of Parliament”.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *